A single-story home with a landscaped front lawn
Homebuyer Assistance Center

Your path to a home may start with assistance.

Down payment help, closing-cost support, homebuyer education and counseling across Atlanta and Georgia. Every program is checked against its official source.

Information verified October 10, 2026 · Rechecked every 30 daysIllustrative footage

Checked at the source

Amounts and rules come from each administering organization's official website. They're never copied from third-party articles.

Dated and reviewed

Information verified appears only while a program is inside its 30-day review window. Otherwise you'll see Check current program details.

No promises we can't keep

Programs and lenders decide eligibility and funding. Most don't publish their funding status, and we say so on each card.

The GetSetKeys Navigator

Answer a few questions, one at a time. See which programs are worth exploring, why each one appeared, and what to confirm next.

Program directory · checked October 10, 2026

Assistance programs & housing resources

Filters help you browse. Choosing one doesn't confirm you're eligible.

Statewide Georgia homebuyer assistance

Georgia Dream Homeownership Program

Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA) · Official government program
Information verifiedFunding status not published

Georgia Dream helps eligible homebuyers explore affordable mortgage financing and down payment assistance through participating lenders.

Area served
Statewide, Georgia
Assistance type
Down payment assistance, 30-year fixed-rate mortgage
Homebuyer education
Required
Designed for
First-time homebuyers, buyers who have not owned a primary residence in the past three years, or buyers purchasing in certain areas.
Published assistanceStandard: 5% of the purchase price or $10,000, whichever is less. PEN and Choice: 6% of the purchase price or $12,500, whichever is less.DCA lists these amounts as effective July 8, 2026.

Major eligibility factors

  • First-time homebuyer status, or another qualifying ownership or property-location category
  • Household income against the limit for your county
  • Purchase price and property location
  • Mortgage credit and underwriting by a participating lender
  • Liquid assets and other program rules
  • Completion of required homebuyer education
Official eligibility details & next steps
Standard5% of purchase price or $10,000, whichever is less. Open to all eligible homebuyers.
PEN (Protectors, Educators & Nurses)6% of purchase price or $12,500, whichever is less. For public protectors, educators, healthcare providers (including those working in these industries) and active military.
Choice6% of purchase price or $12,500, whichever is less. For households with a family member living with a disability.
Who it's for
First-time homebuyers, buyers who have not owned a primary residence in the past three years, or buyers purchasing in certain areas.
Income limits
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell HUD Metro: $137,555 (1–2 persons), $158,188 (3+ persons). Athens MSA: $118,152 / $135,875. All other Georgia counties: $101,700 / $116,955.
Purchase price limits
Atlanta metro $625,000. Athens MSA $525,000. All other counties $475,000.
Credit
DCA's steps page states a credit score of at least 640 is required, and participating lenders make the credit decision.
First-time buyer rule
First-time buyer, no ownership interest in a primary residence during the past three years, or purchasing in certain areas.
Homebuyer education
DCA lists homebuyer education as a requirement for Georgia Dream participants. Classes are offered online or in person through HUD-approved housing counseling agencies.

Other published rules

  • Liquid assets after closing may not exceed $20,000 or 20% of the sales price, whichever is greater.

Your next step

  1. Complete homebuyer education with a HUD-approved agency (online or in person).
  2. Contact a participating Georgia Dream lender to apply for the mortgage and get pre-approved.
  3. Your lender confirms eligibility, income, property and assistance amount.

Official contact & documents

Phone: (404) 679-4840800-359-4663 (Georgia Dream line)Participating lenders ↗Approved counseling agencies ↗Steps to homeownership ↗
Explore Georgia Dream Last checked against the official source: October 10, 2026 · next review Nov 10, 2026

Eligibility, amounts and funding are decided by the administering organization and participating lenders, and can change without notice. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. GetSetKeys is not affiliated with this program.

Georgia Dream mortgage products for first-time and repeat buyers

Georgia Dream Peach Loan Products

Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA) · Official government program
Information verifiedFunding status not published

Separate from the standard Georgia Dream program, DCA lists Peach loan products that are open to both first-time and repeat buyers. Each product has its own rules.

Area served
Statewide, Georgia
Assistance type
Mortgage financing, Optional down payment assistance (Peach Plus, Peach Advantage)
Homebuyer education
Varies / ask
Designed for
First-time and repeat homebuyers in Georgia. Rules differ by product.
AssistanceNo single published amountDCA does not publish one amount for all products. Ask a participating lender which product and assistance level fits.

Major eligibility factors

  • Which Peach product fits your situation
  • Product-specific income and price limits
  • Lender credit and underwriting
  • Whether optional assistance is available for that product
Official eligibility details & next steps
Peach PlusFor first-time and repeat buyers, with higher home price and income limits, market-based rates, and optional down payment assistance.
Peach AdvantageFor first-time and repeat buyers. Sponsored by Lakeview Loan Servicing, with income capped at 150% of AMI and optional down payment assistance.
Peach Select VAA low-rate VA loan for first-time and repeat buyers. No down payment assistance.
Who it's for
First-time and repeat homebuyers in Georgia. Rules differ by product.
Income limits
Varies by product (Peach Advantage: up to 150% of area median income).
Purchase price limits
Varies by product.
Credit
Set by the product and the participating lender.
First-time buyer rule
Not required. Open to repeat buyers.
Homebuyer education
Confirm education requirements for the specific product with your lender.

Your next step

  1. Contact a participating Georgia Dream lender and ask which Peach product fits.
  2. Compare the products' rates, limits and assistance options with your lender.

Official contact & documents

Phone: (404) 679-4840800-359-4663 (Georgia Dream line)Participating lenders ↗
Compare Peach products Last checked against the official source: October 10, 2026 · next review Nov 10, 2026

Eligibility, amounts and funding are decided by the administering organization and participating lenders, and can change without notice. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. GetSetKeys is not affiliated with this program.

City of Atlanta homebuyer incentives

Invest Atlanta Homebuyer Assistance

Invest Atlanta (City of Atlanta's development authority) · Official government program
Information verifiedFunding status not published

Eligible buyers purchasing a qualifying home within Atlanta's incorporated city limits may be able to access homebuyer incentives that reduce certain upfront purchase costs.

Area served
Inside the incorporated City of Atlanta limits only. Some programs cover specific neighborhoods only.
Assistance type
Down payment assistance, Closing-cost assistance, Interest-rate reduction
Homebuyer education
Required
Designed for
Buyers purchasing an owner-occupied home inside Atlanta city limits who meet income and program rules. An Atlanta mailing address does not mean a home is inside city limits.
Published assistanceATL HomeNOW: up to $20,000. Other programs range from $10,000 to $30,000 depending on program and location.Invest Atlanta notes that programs can be combined. It does not state funding status on the page, so confirm current availability before relying on an amount.

Major eligibility factors

  • Whether the property is inside the required city or neighborhood boundaries
  • Household income
  • Purchase price and property type
  • Mortgage qualification
  • Homebuyer education and the Q&A session
  • Required personal contribution
  • Available program funding
Official eligibility details & next steps
ATL HomeNOWUp to $20,000 for down payment, closing costs, a permanent rate reduction, or a combination. Minimum 620 FICO. Maximum loan $325,000. Forgiven after 10 years as your primary residence.
ATL Home Renovation Advantage$10,000 toward down payment and/or closing costs, forgiven after 5 years. Renovation education class and $1,200 program fee. Maximum purchase price $450,000.
Beltline Mortgage AssistanceUp to $30,000 for civil servants and legacy residents, up to $20,000 for other qualified buyers. Only in Beltline TAD subareas 1, 2, 3, 8, 9 and 10. Minimum 620 FICO.
Perry Bolton Mortgage Assistance$20,000 (at or below 80% AMI, permanently affordable home) or $10,000 (up to 120% AMI) in the Perry Bolton TAD. Maximum purchase price $300,000.
Vine City Renaissance Initiative$20,000 toward down payment and/or closing costs in the Vine City boundary, forgiven after 5 years. Renovation education class required.
Who it's for
Buyers purchasing an owner-occupied home inside Atlanta city limits who meet income and program rules. An Atlanta mailing address does not mean a home is inside city limits.
Income limits
Standard limit (HomeNOW, Renovation Advantage, Beltline 120% AMI, Perry Bolton 120% AMI): $99,000 (1 person), $113,160 (2), $127,320 (3), $141,360 (4), $152,760 (5). Higher limits apply to Beltline 140% AMI and VCRI.
Purchase price limits
Varies by program. HomeNOW has a $325,000 maximum loan and no maximum purchase price.
Credit
620 minimum FICO for HomeNOW and Beltline. For other programs, the lender sets the minimum.
First-time buyer rule
Buyer may not own an interest in any other property.
Eligible property types
Single-family detached, 2–4 units, townhomes or condos, new or existing. No manufactured homes.
Occupancy
Owner-occupied primary residence.
Your contribution
$1,500 of the buyer's own funds (items bought outside closing count toward this).
Homebuyer education
Requires a homebuyer education class with a participating educator and a mandatory 90-minute Invest Atlanta Q&A session.

Other published rules

  • Liquid assets are capped ($35,000 for most programs, $25,000 for Perry Bolton).
  • Existing homes must pass inspection before closing.
  • Close with a participating closing attorney.

Your next step

  1. Attend the mandatory 90-minute Invest Atlanta Q&A session (in person or online).
  2. Complete homebuyer education with a participating educator.
  3. Get pre-qualified with a participating lender and select incentives.
  4. Confirm the address is inside city limits before making an offer.
  5. Close with a participating closing attorney.

Official contact & documents

Email: Listed on the official page133 Peachtree St. NE, Suite 2300, Atlanta, GA 30303City of Atlanta property lookup (GIS) ↗
Explore Atlanta programs Last checked against the official source: October 10, 2026 · next review Nov 10, 2026

Eligibility, amounts and funding are decided by the administering organization and participating lenders, and can change without notice. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. GetSetKeys is not affiliated with this program.

Eligible homebuyers served by Atlanta Housing programs

Atlanta Housing Down Payment Assistance

Atlanta Housing (AH) · Official public housing authority program
Information verifiedFunding status not published

Atlanta Housing offers down payment assistance opportunities for eligible homebuyers who meet program requirements.

Area served
Homes inside the City of Atlanta
Assistance type
Down payment assistance
Homebuyer education
Required
Designed for
Eligible first-time homebuyers at or below 80% of HUD area median income, buying a home inside the City of Atlanta.
Published assistanceUp to $20,000 for eligible first-time homebuyers. Up to $25,000 for public safety, healthcare, education, current military or veteran households, and voucher participants.AH states eligibility criteria are subject to change without advance notice, and the page does not state funding status.

Major eligibility factors

  • You must meet Atlanta Housing's requirements
  • The primary mortgage lender must approve the mortgage
  • The property and occupancy must meet program rules
  • Specific documents and about 30 days of processing
  • Subject to available funding
  • Combining programs requires approval from each program and the lender
Official eligibility details & next steps
Who it's for
Eligible first-time homebuyers at or below 80% of HUD area median income, buying a home inside the City of Atlanta.
Income limits
At or below 80% of the current HUD MSA area median income.
Purchase price limits
$375,000 maximum.
Credit
Must meet the primary lender's credit requirements.
First-time buyer rule
No home ownership in the past 3 years, and no ownership interest in residential or commercial property during that period.
Eligible property types
Single-family detached homes, townhomes or condominiums. Undeveloped land is not eligible.
Occupancy
Primary residence only. Second homes are not allowed.
Your contribution
At least $1,500 of the buyer's own funds.
Homebuyer education
An eight-hour homebuyer education class from a HUD-approved provider, required for every person on the note.

Other published rules

  • Liquid assets may not exceed $35,000.
  • Proof of at least six months of Georgia residency.
  • Conventional, FHA or VA loan approval. The primary loan must be fixed-rate, 15–30 years.
  • Non-occupant co-borrowers or co-signers are not allowed.
  • Can be combined with other assistance only if AH and the primary lender both approve.

Your next step

  1. Complete an eight-hour homebuyer education class from a HUD-approved provider.
  2. Work with an AH participating lender. Processing takes about 30 days after the lender submits a complete file.
  3. Questions: contact Atlanta Housing through its official page.

Official contact & documents

Phone: 404-892-4700230 John Wesley Dobbs Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303Mon–Fri, 8am–5pm (excluding holidays)
Check Atlanta Housing requirements Last checked against the official source: October 10, 2026 · next review Nov 10, 2026

Eligibility, amounts and funding are decided by the administering organization and participating lenders, and can change without notice. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. GetSetKeys is not affiliated with this program.

Eligible Atlanta Housing voucher participants

Bridging the Gap to Homeownership

Atlanta Housing (AH) · Official public housing authority program
Information verifiedFunding status not published

This program is designed to help eligible Atlanta Housing voucher participants transition from subsidized rental housing to sustainable homeownership.

Area served
Homes inside the City of Atlanta. Only for current Atlanta Housing voucher participants.
Assistance type
Down payment assistance, Closing-cost assistance, Interest-rate buydown
Homebuyer education
Required
Designed for
Current Atlanta Housing Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) participants only. It is not open to every renter or first-time buyer, and voucher holders from other housing authorities or states are not eligible.
Published assistanceUp to $60,000 for eligible participants.Forgiven after a 10-year affordability period as your primary residence. Repayment is required if you sell or transfer title within 10 years. Confirm current availability with Atlanta Housing.

Major eligibility factors

  • Current Atlanta Housing HCV participation
  • Income limits
  • Primary-residence requirement
  • Lender approval
  • Required documents (W-2s, paystubs, tax returns, bank statements, education certificate)
Official eligibility details & next steps
Who it's for
Current Atlanta Housing Housing Choice Voucher (HCV) participants only. It is not open to every renter or first-time buyer, and voucher holders from other housing authorities or states are not eligible.
Income limits
At or below 80% of HUD MSA area median income. If married, both spouses' incomes count.
Purchase price limits
$375,000 maximum.
Credit
Minimum credit score of 580, plus primary lender approval.
First-time buyer rule
No ownership or title interest in a home within the past 3 years.
Eligible property types
Single-family detached homes, townhomes or condominiums inside the City of Atlanta.
Occupancy
Primary residence for the 10-year affordability period.
Your contribution
At least $500 out of pocket.
Homebuyer education
An eight-hour homebuyer education class from a HUD-approved provider.

Other published rules

  • At least 6 months of verifiable Georgia residency.
  • At least 2 years of verifiable employment and/or income.
  • Cash reserves at closing equal to at least one month of PITI (plus HOA dues, if any).
  • Liquid assets at DPA submission may not exceed $35,000.
  • Funds cannot be used to pay off debts.
  • No non-occupant co-borrowers or co-signers.

Your next step

  1. There is no separate application, waiting list or pre-registration. Get approved by a lender in the AH Lender Network.
  2. Complete an eight-hour HUD-approved homebuyer education class.
  3. Gather the documents the lender requests for pre-approval.

Official contact & documents

Phone: 404-892-4700Email: HomeownershipSvcDevelopment@atlantahousing.org230 John Wesley Dobbs Avenue, Atlanta, GA 30303Mon–Fri, 8am–5pm (excluding holidays)
Explore voucher-to-ownership options Last checked against the official source: October 10, 2026 · next review Nov 10, 2026

Eligibility, amounts and funding are decided by the administering organization and participating lenders, and can change without notice. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. GetSetKeys is not affiliated with this program.

Fulton County homebuyer assistance (outside Atlanta)

Fulton County Homeownership Program (HOP)

Fulton County Department of Community Development · Official government program
Information verifiedFunding status not published

Fulton County's HOP offers eligible first-time homebuyers a 0% interest, deferred second mortgage with no monthly payment. It can be used for the down payment, closing costs and/or an interest-rate buydown.

Area served
Fulton County outside the City of Atlanta (for example Sandy Springs, Roswell, Alpharetta, Johns Creek, South Fulton, East Point, College Park). Homes inside Atlanta city limits are not eligible.
Assistance type
Down payment assistance, Closing-cost assistance, Interest-rate buydown
Homebuyer education
Required
Designed for
Low- and moderate-income first-time homebuyers (no home ownership in the past three years) buying a primary residence in Fulton County outside the City of Atlanta.
Published assistanceUp to $25,000, based on need.The county's program page and August 2026 guidelines state up to $25,000. Its May 2026 overview PDF still says $22,500, so confirm the current figure with the county. The loan is forgiven 20% per year over a 5-year affordability period if the home stays your primary residence.

Major eligibility factors

  • The home must be in Fulton County but outside Atlanta city limits
  • Household income against the 2026 limits
  • Purchase price limits
  • First mortgage approval from a HOP participating lender
  • HUD-approved counseling and an eight-hour education class
  • A $500 minimum contribution
Official eligibility details & next steps
Who it's for
Low- and moderate-income first-time homebuyers (no home ownership in the past three years) buying a primary residence in Fulton County outside the City of Atlanta.
Income limits
2026 limits (effective June 1, 2026): $66,000 (1 person), $75,400 (2), $84,850 (3), $94,250 (4), $101,800 (5), $109,350 (6), $116,900 (7), $124,450 (8).
Purchase price limits
$347,000 for existing homes and $371,000 for new construction (2026).
Credit
Must be a reasonable credit risk. The participating lender's credit requirements apply, and non-traditional credit is acceptable.
First-time buyer rule
First-time homebuyer, or no home ownership in the past three years. You can't own any other real property.
Eligible property types
Existing homes, new construction, condominiums, townhomes, and newly built manufactured housing on a permanent foundation.
Occupancy
Primary residence for the 5-year affordability period.
Your contribution
At least $500 of the buyer's own funds.
Homebuyer education
HUD-approved housing counseling, plus an eight-hour homebuyer education class from a HUD-approved provider for everyone on the note. Certificates are valid for one year.

Other published rules

  • You must be approved for a first mortgage with a HOP participating lender.
  • Homes must meet inspection standards. New construction needs a Certificate of Occupancy.
  • The assistance amount depends on income, household size, price, debts and need.

Your next step

  1. Complete HUD-approved housing counseling and an eight-hour homebuyer education class.
  2. Contact a HOP participating lender to apply for your first mortgage. The lender list is on the county's page.
  3. Gather the documents on the county's 2026 HOP checklist.

Official contact & documents

Phone: 404-285-8609Email: DownPayment.Assistance@fultoncountyga.govOne Margaret Mitchell Square, Atlanta, GA 303032026 HOP policy & guidelines (PDF) ↗2026 HOP document checklist (PDF) ↗
Explore Fulton County HOP Last checked against the official source: October 10, 2026 · next review Nov 10, 2026

Eligibility, amounts and funding are decided by the administering organization and participating lenders, and can change without notice. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. GetSetKeys is not affiliated with this program.

Homebuyer education and housing guidance

HUD-Approved Housing Counseling

U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) · Official government resource
Information verifiedOngoing resource

Not sure whether you're ready to buy? HUD-participating housing counseling agencies can help you understand your options and develop a plan based on your housing goals.

Area served
Nationwide, including Atlanta and all of Georgia
Assistance type
Homebuyer education, One-on-one counseling, Rental and housing stability help
Homebuyer education
Varies / ask
Designed for
Anyone with a housing goal: first-time buyers, repeat buyers, renters, and homeowners facing difficulty.
AssistanceNo single published amountSome services may be free, while others may have reasonable fees. Confirm costs with the agency.

Counselors may help with

  • Preparing to purchase a home
  • Understanding affordability
  • Budgeting and credit education
  • Homebuyer education classes
  • Understanding mortgage options
  • Rental housing issues and housing stability
  • Avoiding foreclosure
  • Identifying obstacles to homeownership
Official eligibility details & next steps
Who it's for
Anyone with a housing goal: first-time buyers, repeat buyers, renters, and homeowners facing difficulty.
First-time buyer rule
Not required.
Homebuyer education
Counselors provide the homebuyer education that Georgia Dream, Invest Atlanta and Atlanta Housing require. Confirm the class meets your program's requirement.

Your next step

  1. Search HUD's agency directory or call 800-569-4287.
  2. Ask the agency about cost, class format (online or in person) and whether the certificate is accepted by your program.
Find a housing counselor Last checked against the official source: October 10, 2026 · next review Nov 10, 2026

Eligibility, amounts and funding are decided by the administering organization and participating lenders, and can change without notice. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. GetSetKeys is not affiliated with this program.

About this directory. GetSetKeys is independent and not affiliated with any program listed. "Funding status not published" means the administrator doesn't state whether funds are currently available, so confirm with the program or a participating lender before relying on any amount. Programs can be combined only when each program and your lender approve. Found something out of date? Tell us.